Good Times | Santa Cruz, CA Aptos Life | Aptos, Capitola & Soquel Gilroy Dispatch | Gilroy, CA Events in CA | Santa Cruz, CA Metro | San Jose, CA The Pajaronian | Watsonville, CA California Wheelin | Autos for Sale
83.9 F
King City
English English Spanish Spanish
September 26, 2023

Little League All-Star season begins for South Monterey County teams

SALINAS VALLEY — The California Division 9 Little League All-Star season began last week with all four South Monterey County Little League programs competing in the double-elimination tournament.

Gonzales opened play in the Intermediate 50/70 division on Saturday and was beaten at home by a 16-1 score against Ferrasci. Gonzales played the following day at Manzanita against National Little League.

The 8-9-10 division begins this Saturday with Gonzales playing Soledad at Continental Little League at 11 a.m., and Greenfield playing King City at 2 p.m. at the same ballpark.

The winner of the Gonzales/Soledad game plays the winner of Hollister/Hartnell at American Little League at 5:30 p.m. on June 29. The winner of the Greenfield/King City contest plays the winner of Atlantic/Continental on June 29 at 5:30 p.m. in Gonzales.

In the 9-10-11 division, Gonzales begins play on Wednesday at Hartnell Little League against Ferrasci at 5:30 p.m. A win will send Gonzales to Atlantic Little League on June 23 at 5:30 p.m. against National.

Greenfield, King City and Soledad are the only three South Monterey County teams in the 10-11-12 division. On Saturday, June 24, at 2 p.m., Greenfield will play King City at Gonzales and Soledad will play Continental at Hartnell Little League.

The winner of the Greenfield/King City game plays the winner of the Manzanita/Atlantic contest at Hartnell on June 29 at 5:30 p.m., and the winner of the Soledad/Continental contest plays the winner of the Hartnell/Hollister game at Manzanita, also on June 29 at 5:30 p.m.

Members of the Gonzales Little League All-Star 8-9-10 team are (from left): Izaiah Diaz, Andrew Lujan, Diego Serrano, Mateo Zavala, Kaleb King, Jaycob Villalobos, Kai Sibaja, Nathaniel Correa, Nathaniel Hernandez-Cruz, Elijah Gaona and Julian Barboza. Coaches are Francisco Sibaja, Andrew Lujan and Albert Cruz. (Michael Ramirez)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Local News